Posted by: limberkimbers | December 17, 2008

Sweetness of the salty wind

First of all, I am so thrilled that Michelle won The Biggest Loser. I honestly could not be happier!

The transit strike is still going on.  They were forcasting snow for today so my mom and I decided we would leave for work at 5:30 am.  Well, I woke up with a sore throat and thought to myself “I should just stay home”  Those words would eventually come back to haunt me!  Our ride to work ended up taking 3 hours. I could not believe it! There was a crazy amount of cars on the road, it had snowed about 5-6 cm and nothing had been plowed! It was kind of ridiculous but we made it to work safe so all was good. Work was a whole other story but I’m going to let that ridiculousness just roll of my back. It’s funny how crazy busy things get whenyou’re about to take time off!

Anyways, I started my day off w/ cereal & a banana w/ almond butter. And since I was leaving for work 1h 15m earlier than usual I ate much earlier.. so I wasn’t really hungry as it felt like the middle of the night!

That’s just some yummy Kashi Go Lean. I love that stuff, though it’s the only Kashi cereal I’ve ever tried so I can’t really say anything about the others.

Lunch was what I had made yesterday that I didn’t eat because of our Christmas party. A sandwich and carrots, but in between, at around 10am I had a Larabar.  I tried the Cocoa Coconut chew and very much enjoyed it! Those bars are super filling though, it took me almost an hour to eat it, but that was also due to people coming into my office every 2 minutes.

These are just a few of the things I’ve bought in the last few days.  The chocalatey Chai tea is DELICIOUS. It’s made with carob and I think it’s the cat’s meow.  I picked up those Brocoli tenders at costco tonight, it’s 2 small bags taped together.  I’ve got a Sweet Potato squash and a butternut up front.  I’m still not sure what to make with the first one, but the butternut is going into a Latke recipe I got in a Hungry Girl email this week.  Then we’ve got some yummy flax seeds, black berries and another squash that was labelled as circus squash but I’m not sure if that’s what it is.

I picked up some more Laughing Cow at Costco today, I’m pretty sure I won’t run out again in the near future!  And the yoghurt.  All my life I’ve never liked yoghurt. I’ve tried many kinds and I want to like it but there’s something about it. Well, not too long ago I tried the Activia Fiber ones and LOVED them.  The only thing really wrong with Activia is that there are trans fats in it.  Well this brand doesn’t! And my favorite thing about Activia were the chunks of grains in it, so we’ll see how this yoghurt tastes. I’ll probably have a bit tomorrow.

So I’m one of those people that gets excited about dinner like, every day. I love food. A lot. And when it tastes good I get excited! This dinner was SO GOOD!  Last night I had marinated some chicken breast in some Wicked Gourmet‘s honey garlic sauce. So when I came home tonight I cut up a sweet potato into fries and tossed them in a bit of olive oil and s&p and cooked them in the oven with the chicken. While that was doing it’s thing I steamed a bag of those brocoli tenders in my bain marie. When the brocoli was ready I tossed it in some seasame oil, s&p and ginger. And that was dinner. SO. TASTY. That honey garlic sauce gave the chicken great flavor and I’m glad I bought 2 bottles of the stuff. I think this weekend I’m going to marinate some tofu strips in the sauce and see if they come out as tasty as the chicken.

Tomorrow morning I’m leaving for work at 5:30 again. We’re not supposed to get snow again so the commute shouldn’t be as long. At least I hope not!  Our work breakast is at 8:00 am so I would like to get there in time for it.  Since I’ll be eating there [hopefully!] I’m just going to have some yoghurt and berries for breakfast at 5 before leaving.

I cannot believe that Christmas is ONE week away.

Responses

  1. OOH i totally missed Biggest Loser!
    And I can’t believe that Christmas is only a week away either!!!

  2. We has about 5-6 inches here so far. I just drove to the neighbors to drop something off and had to go drop a gift off.

    I skipped the post office and figured that my family would survive getting their cards and gifts one day late. That’s what I get for procrastinating =)


Leave a Reply

Categories

