Posted by: limberkimbers | December 24, 2008

Walking in a winter wonderland.

It’s Christmas Eve! I don’t get anywhere near excited about the holidays as I did when I was a child, though sometimes I do wish I did!   There’s a lot to be said about spending time with all of the aunts and uncles and cousins, my extended family is so big that I don’t even know all of them!  Unfortunately everyone lives 9+ hours away, ever since I started working full time I stopped making the trip to visit everyone.  My parents used to go without me but last year I finally asked them to stay. I’m an only child and when they were gone it was just a really lonely time, even though I have the bf and the in-laws.

Anyways. For breakfast I had a piece of toast and many blackberries and cherries. It was tasty!

After eating this I studied for a couple of hours. That wasn’t really exciting. I haven’t touched my books in about 3 weeks so a lot of my time was spent reviewing everything I’d already learned.  I did take a break when that got too boring and did some yoga. I did 22 minutes following the first episode of Namaste, it was a set involving Warrior poses which I loved.. I’m a big fan of Warrior for some reason.  I followed up that session with some ab work. I found a video on youtube of what is supposedly Britney Spears’ ab workout, so that’s what I did.  After about another hour of studying I had some lunch.

Leftovers form last night! This Butternut Squash Mac & Cheese is almost better reheated!

After this was some more studying. But then I got bored. And I had some bananas that were starting to brown. And a chocolate cake mix hanging out in the pantry.. and even though I’m not a big fan of baking, everyone else’s baking posts kind of put me in the mood!

Cinamon honey + walnuts + coconut + cake mix + cinamon + egg whites & eggs + bananas =

Super amazing Chocolate/Banana/Coconut/Walnut cupcakes!  I got a while 24 mini cupcakes and then I threw the rest of the batter into a loaf pan and got about half a cake out of that.  And let me tell you, these little suckers are hella tasty!  I took a picture of one,

But seriously, a good 7 or 8 others made their way into my mouth between this afternoon and tonight.. I’m a little embarassed to admit that, but hey, they are mini 😀  That’s also one of the reasons I don’t do much baking. Especially of things involving chocolate, I develope some kind of choco-amnesia or something and lose all self control. 

I’ve been thinking a lot about my grandma lately. I used to spend every summer with her from when I was about 4 until I was 12 and started babysitting during the summer. Everything about cooking I learned from her since neither of my parents cook or care an ounce about cooking.  The fact that she taught me everything probably accounts for the fact that I only know how to cook meals for many people, even though I’ve only ever cooked for my family when I was younger which consisted of me and my parents, or nowadays me and the bf!

Anyways, when I was younger she used to make a seafood lasagna which was one of my favorite dishes of hers that she made. So I sort of stole form that for our Christmas Eve dinner.  But I also changed it a lot.  I used some fresh whole wheat lasagna noodles and threw some chopped red pepper & onion on the bottom layer. I then added another layer of noodles and topped that with ricotte and spinach.  I then topped that with another layer of noodles followed by a mix of shrimp and teeny scallops topped by a bechamel sauce, followed by another layer of pasta, more sauce, and tonnes of cheese.   This was actually my first attempt ever at making a bechamel and it was so, so easy!

Here’s a few shots of the lasagna before it went into the oven,

 

And here’s a picture of one of my dogs, Whiskey, keeping me company in the kitchen.  (excuse the mess, I’m still working on it!)

While we were hard at work getting dinner ready, Tyson was just chillin’ on the couch.

And then dinner was ready! It smelled so delicious at this point, I could not wait to see how it tasted!

It tasted AMAZING.  I don’t know why I waited this long to try making seafood lasagna! It’s pretty simple, really!  The only thing is next time I would probably double the bechamel sauce and add some to the bottom layer.

This is the piece I had, and then I went back and had another piece about a third the size of this.

We ate this delicious meal with a bottle of wine the bf was given at work.  It`s my first time trying this wine and for a white wine it tastes good.

My bf refilled my glass about an hour ago and I`m still not even half done drinking it. I should never let him refill my glass as he always over fills it!

Since this hasn`t been the best year financially for us, the bf was jobless for about half of it, we set a limit on our gift giving this year. We each got eachother 3 gifts,  two of which were to be opened tonight and we`re saving one for tomorrow.  And in lieu of a Christmas tree, we have a Christmas Giraffe. (the picture`s sadly cut off but he`s wearing a santa hat!)

I was given the book Clown Girl by Monica Drake which I can`t wait to start reading!  I also got an Ipod Alarm clock. I`ll no longer have to wake to the loud obnoxious BEEEEPING of my old one. I can`t wait 😀  I got my bf a video game and a set of imported beers with a fancy drinjking glass.  The dogs got nothing 😦  But that`s only because all of the fun dog toys go on sale after Christmas.  I always go during the week after Christmas and get them tonnes of different toys for the same amount of money I would normally spend on 2 or 3 toys.

Tomorrow night my bf is working and my dad is going hunting so I`m going to go over to my parents and hang out with my mom.  We`re either going to marathon some Gilmour Girls or line up some Chick Flicks to watch. 

Happy Holidays everyone 😀

Responses

  1. that lasagna looks amazing!!!! and those cupcake do too!! anything with coconut, i love! what successful cooking experiments 🙂
    hope you had a merry christmas!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

