Posted by: limberkimbers | December 26, 2008

I feel it in my fingers, I feel it in my toes.

Ok, this is going to be a slightly long post & picture heavy!  I hope everyone had a safe and happy Christmas. Mine was very low-key and I wouldn’t have wanted it any other way.  It would have been nice if the bf wasn’t working, but we can’t always get everything we want, right?!

So Christmas morning I woke up and had some breakfast before the bf and I exchanged our last gifts to eachother. I had a bowl of Kashi Go Lean Crunch with some frozen blueberries and a banana w/ almond butter.

My final gift from the bf was the first season of the tv show ‘Chuck’ on blue ray.  I love that show so I was super happy 😀  After that Christmas was pretty much over in my books. I did some cleaning and tidying up but took the rest of the morning easy.  I decided food-wise it was going to be a ‘whatever’ day. I decided to take the day off from working out too, though I did sneak in about 10 minutes of various crunches.

Then I had lunch, a small leftover piece of my Christmas Eve seafood lasagna. It was even better reheated. 

The day gets a bit hazy after this. The bf left for work at 2pm and my mom came and picked me up at around 3pm.  We watched ‘It’s A Wonderful Life’ which shockingly my mother had never seen!  Dinner was baked chicken breast, wild rice and baby cut carrots.  I was actually planning on bringing the camera to photograph stuff but I forgot it 😦 It’s a shame too because my parents have the most ridiculous little yorkies and I wanted to get some pics of them!  Throughout the rest of the night I had some mini toblerones (my first time ever trying this chocolate!), probably about 5 or 6 of them, I also had 3 Coronas and 3 bite sized pieces of homemade fudge (omgsogood!)  So not the greatest eats but still pretty tasty so I’m doing going to beat myself up over it.

We spent the rest of the evening watching the Food Network. It started with an Iron Chef marathon and transitioned into a Kitchen Nightmares marathon.  Like I said, it was v. low key 😀  My mother spoiled me for Christmas.  She bought me the Columbia winter jacket I was coveting. I almost bought it last week and she talked me out of it, and now I know it’s because she’d already bought it for me. She’s awesome.  She also bought me 2 necklaces by my favorite jewelery designer, EVER. I also got a new ring, new purse, a giraffe cookie jar (it holds dog treats!) and a Party Lite giraffe I’ve been wanting for about a year now.. [I’m a fan of giraffe’s and elephants and have collections of both] This is all on top of the 2 pairs of shoes she bought me a few weeks ago, another necklace she bought me [by the same woman] and a few other things. Like I said, I was spoiled 😀

So that was that. This morning I decided that since the bf had the day off I would make something for the both us of for breakfast. I’ve been in the mood for pancakes lately so I decided to experiment…I threw together some cooked oatmeal, whole wheat flour, baking powder, cinammon, an egg, milk and frozen blueberries:

These made for some thick pancakes!

The finished product:

I only ended up eating 2 of these as they were incredibly filling.  The real maple syrup from my relatives was also super tasty.

My mom and I decided to hit the mall and see if we could find anything interesting. We both got a White Hot Chocolate from Second Cup when we got to the mall. She managed to find a bunch of things she wanted to get marked down to 80% off so that was a win for her. I got nothing.. but I also don’t need anything so that’s ok. I’m trying to stop spending on things I don’t really need!

We quickly got tired of the mall so we decided to go to Petsmart and see if we could find some dog toys for our boys.  Compared to last year there wasn’t much to pick from but I think my dogs would be just as happy if I brought home an emtpy water bottle for them, so I got them 5 squeaker toys and called it a day.

Mom and I went to Subway for lunch after that. I got a 6′ Turkey on Honey Oat w/ all of the veggies = honey mustard sauce. I was being bad again today so I also got an iced tea and baked lays.  I really wasn’t hungry though so I should have just eaten maybe half the sub and brought the rest home.. but my parents were so hardcore about cleaning my plate when I was a kid that to this day I still feel like I need to when I’m around them!

Almost done!

For dinner I decided that I would try my hand at making a Tourtiere, something else I’d never made before.  I never realized how ridiculously easy it is. Granted I kind of just made it up as I went.. and I didn’t make the dough, I bought it!  I got some Pilsbury dough, filled up the pie dish with a mix of browned ground beef & pork. During the browning process I added cinamon, allspice and ground cloves, also generous amounts of pepper and some salt. It tasted pretty much like the others I’ve had in my life so I call this a success!  It won’t be something I’ll be making often though. Once a year is probably enough!

Also, I have about half of the browned meat leftover. I should have made 2 tourtieres but I didn’t have enough dough. I think that I’ll turn the leftovers into a Shepherd’s pie w/ sweet potatoe instead of regular potatoes.. methinks the spices in the meat will go together well with the sweet potatoes!

Anyways, this was my portion which I pretty much drowned in Ketchup.

And to accompany this I had a glass of Elora Irish Ale.  To be honest, I wasn’t a fan of the beer. It was too dark and strong but the bf said he liked it.

And finally we have dessert, Tiramisu Christmas Log. I shouldn’t have bought this. My mother and I each bought one when we saw it. And even though it’s something ridiculous like 300 calories for 1/16th of the log we both HAD to get it. And it’s worth it.  I’d do an extra 45 minutes of cardio every day to eat this!  Luckily it’s a frozen dessert so I won’t feel the need to eat some every day. It’s frakin’ tasty though. Money well spent.

I’m off to watch ‘Love Actually’ now. Alan Rickman’s voice keeps distracting me 😀

Responses

  1. Cool gifts and yummy looking eats! Good thing your mom was successful at talking you out of buying the jacket 🙂

    have a wonderful saturday!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

