Posted by: limberkimbers | January 11, 2009

Follow the lines and wonder why there’s no connection

Weekends go by too fast!

I can’t get over this feeling for the last couple of days, all I want to do is SLEEP!  I got out of bed at around 8:30 and made myself some oats.  I added in some maple syrup, maple sugar, frozen blueberries, dark chocolate chips and a tablespoon of light cool whip. So good! And filling.  I always associate oats as a weekend breakfast but I think I’m going to try them during the week sometime.

A couple of hours after this I went downstairs to workout. I did 30 minutes of intervals on the bike and then I put in one of my Winsor pilates dvds and did that for another 20 minutes. I had also meant to do my ab routine but I just remembered now, whoops!!

After this it was time for lunch. I was in the mood for eggs despite having eaten them for breakfast all last week! I made myself a wrap which included one laughing cow wedge, half an avocado, some chopped up tomato, sauteed onion and spinach and then a scrambled egg + egg white. It was delicious!

After a nice long epsom salt bath I was craving something sweet, so I had some tea and a cookie treat.

I held off on doing groceries until today and it was pretty much the biggest mistake ever! Apparently everyone does groceries on Sunday afternoons and it makes for a hectic grocery store. I usually love grocery shopping but I wasn’t a fan of my experience today, I felt rushed the whole time and a few of the items I needed were all sold out!

Dinner ended up being a recipe that I found in the grocery store flyer!  Pan-friend halibut with mango & cucumber salsa. Holy frakkin’ cow was this ever DELISH.  As soon as I got home I cut up 1 mango, half a cucumber and some cilantro. I added the juice of 1 tiny lime and 1 tablespoon of honey and mixed it all together and let it hang out in the fridge for about an hour. 

When we were ready to eat I got out the 2 halibut filets and cut them in 2, I sprinkled flour on each side and then seasoned it with some paprika, salt and pepper.

I cooked the fish for about 4 minutes/side and then topped it with the salsa.  As sides I had some spinach steamed with garlic and also some carrots. Next time I wouldn’t make the carrots though since the meal was filling enough and the bf and I both only ate a couple each.

I would have never thought to mix cucumber and mango together and least of all those two plus fish! But the whole thing put together tasted super fresh. I’ll definitely be making this again and again!

Since I discovered yesterday that I actually kind of enjoy hummus, I decided to pick some up at the grocery store today. While I was scanning the many different kinds I came across one that I had never seen before… Edamame hummus!

So of course I had to buy this and open it immediately when I got home to try it out! It’s SUPER tasty!  Now granted I don’t have much to compare it to so my opnion is pretty much useless, but this is for sure something I’ll keep buying. The flavor has a little bit of a kick that I don’t remember from the other hummus I’ve tried, it’s almost like cumin, but I’m not sure. I really only had 2 baby carrots dipped in this before I put it away. I didn’t want to ruin dinner 😀

I have spent the day doing random assignments for school so I haven’t been able to catch up much on everyone’s blogs, I’m hoping to do that tomorrow morning since I’ll be getting to work extra early again since the strike isn’t resolved yet.

Responses

  1. wow that halibut looks so good! Thanks for the recipe I am in need of some fish in my diet i will be sure to try this!

  2. Swinging by to say hello!! Your breakfast wrap looks awesome. I make it a lot, my favorite thing to eat. I found wraps for 70 calories each, drop some egg beaters, onions and sprinkle with cheese and I’m in heaven!

  3. I tried the “pesto” and it turned out great. I didn’t have the pine nuts but I added tomatoes in with the spinach and it turned out delicious and full of flavor. I took a picture and will share some time soon. Thanks for a delicious dinner =)

  4. That breakfast looks better than some desserts.

    And edamame hummus, are you kidding me?! Why have I not seen this yet? I better find some of that asap. I know I would love love love it.

  5. I’m glad the dinner turned out great! I’m going to try it with tomatoes next time, that’s a great idea!

  6. I’m not sure if there’s any by wherever it is you live but I got my hummus at Sobeys!


Leave a Reply

Categories

