Posted by: limberkimbers | January 16, 2009

Before I laugh and act like a fool

I could not be more greatful that today is Friday! It has been the longest day ever!  I left my house at 5:30 this morning and didn’t home until 6:30. RIDIC!

As I have 2 days of food to get through I’m just going to jump right in.

Yesterday, Thursday I had a plain ol’ whole wheat english muffin w/ egg & laughing cow for breakfast at 4:45.

I got hungry at around 9:30 so I had my very first Clif bar ever. I tried to Almond Fudge one I think it was called. I liked it a lot!

Finally at noon I got ready for lunch. I only realized afterwards that everything was orange!

My desk is super messy! Lunch was carrot & coriander soup from Knorr. It was good but I won’t be buying it again as I noticed it contained a tracce of trans fats. The V8 soups don’t so I’ll stick with those. I also had a cheese string, a blood orange, some carrots [with edamame hummus] and some water w/ orange flavoring.

The bf has decided that he will cook every Thursday night to give me some extra time to study and stuff. So his dinner this week was his version of shrimp scampi. You have to keep in mind that while his intentions are good he harasses me about every single ingredient that goes into a dish and then every single thing he has to do.. the controlling side of me just wishes I could make dinner myself, it would be much faster! But, I keep telling myself that eventually he’ll have a handful of dishes he can execute 100% on his own!

Anyways, his shrimp scampi = basically whole wheat pasta, butter, basil, garlic, pepper and shrimp. We were missing a few key inredients which seems to be the theme this week for our house! The dinner still was good though. I ate half the pasta in my bowl and then all the shrimp. I also added about a tbsp of parm.

I was having a bit of an emotional day. Not sure why other than that it’s cold and I was tired and the week had been long.. so I saw this in the fridge and couldn’t resist a piece. I left most of the crust there so hopefully that helped in the calories & fat departments.

I had no workouts on Thursday. I worked out the 6 days prior and felt like my body needed some downtime. Also, my calves?? Killing me from those stairs!

And now we have today’s eats. Today is a happy day despite the long commuting and working hours.  One of my all-time favorite shows is back tonight and airing the first of the final 10 episodes of the series. I’m a giant nerd according to my coworkers because they don’t understand the genius that is the show Battlestar Galactica, but I’m ok with that.

I didn’t feel like making anything for breakfast today but I knew I still had to eat something. I settled for a bowl of Kashi Probiotic with blueberries and a piece of toast w/ AB&J.

Lunch was a DISASTER!  I had brought 1 baked sweet potato, some cottage cheese, a piece of bread, a laughing cow cheese and a slice of turkey breast. I heated up the potato in the micro, cut it open and it was all gross inside, so I binned it. Then I put my piece of bread in the toaster and ran to my desk to get a V8 soup that I have stashed in my desk for ‘just in case’ moments such as this. When I came back my piece of toast was ON THE FLOOR! lol I wasn’t sure whether I should laugh or cry, so I laughed. In the end lunch ended up being the soup [tomato] and about 8 leftover carrots from yesterday with more edamame hummus. It was still good but I was hungry again within an hour.

Dinner was some of the leftover turkey-potato bake from a couple of nights ago. This time I served it over some whole wheat pasta. This dish is AMAZING reheated and used as a sauce. I’m super happy that I still have another serving for 2 stashed in the freezer!  The textures are just A+ in this!

The recipe:
Turkey & Potato Bake
(from Weight Watchers mag Jan/Feb 09)

1 eggplant [1lb]
1 tsp salt [I ommited all of the salt]
3c refridgerated cooked potatos [I cheated and used thawed hashbrowns]
1 chopped onion
1lb ground turkey
3 garlic cloves chopped [I used 8]
1 tsp dried oregano
1 tsp cinnamon
1 can tomato sauce [8oz]
2 1/2 cup milk [fat free]
2 tsp flour
1 bay leaf
1/2 tsp coarse ground pepper [i used WAY more]
2 eggs
1c fat free cottage cheese
1c crumbled light feta
1/2c chopped parsley

1. Toss eggplant  w/ 1/2 tsp salt, transfer to colander and let stand for 30 minutes.
2. Boil potatoes to a boil in salted water, cook until fork tender & drain well [this step made no sense to me since the potatoes are already cooked, they should already be fork tender, right? I did it anyway though]
3. Spray 9×13 baking dish w/ non-stick spary. Also spray skillet and cook onion for 5 mins over med-high heat,  Add turkey, 2/3 of chopped garlic, oregano, cinnamon, 1/4 tsp salt;, cook stirring until turkey isn’t pink. Add the eggplant and cook until softened. Add tomato sauce andd cook 5 more minutes. Add everything to the baking dish. Add the potatoes over top.
4. Whisk 1/4c of milk + flour in saucepan until smooth & then whisk in the rest of the milk. Add the rest of the garlic, a bay leaf and pepper. Bring to a boil, wisking.  Reduce the heat and cook until thickened, about 3 mins. Whisk the eggs  and a 1/2 c of the hot milk in a bowl and then whisk everything back together in the saucepan. Discard the bay leaf. Whisk in the cheeses and the parsley and the rest of the salt. Pour over the filling.
5. Cook in the oven @ 425 for 35-40 minutes.

The damage:
1 serving = 2c
366 cal
9g fat
3g sat fat
0 trans
5g fiber
33 protein

So there’s that.

I didn’t mention this earlier but I did have another Clif bar today, the crunchy peanut butter flavor. I’ve come to the conclusion that I prefer Clif bars when it comes to flavor & texture. Larabars do a better job of filling me up though so I’ll likely still be keeping a variety of both on hand.  Also I’m still on a mission to find more than 1 larabar flavor that I like!  I do intend on making some homemade ones this weekend.

I skipped working out again today. Every single person who had commited to the Stair Club bailed today. Since mmy calves are STILL sore and I would have been alone I skipped it too. I was planning on running when I got home but I was too hungry and tired. Tomorrow is a new day so I’ll get in a good workout then.

Before I forget, everyone who hasn’t already should check out Angela @ Oh She Glows’ Honest Foods Giveaway!!  Those bars look absolutely delicious! 

This afternoon I booked my hotel for my stay in San Diego! The reservations agent was super nice and telling me all about what to say and do while I was there!  I’m just excited to be getting away from the cold!

I’m off to comb through this week’s flyers to find out where all the good deals are this week! I’m on a mission to stop spending so much money on groceries while still maintaining my relatively good eating habits. We’ll see how that works out! I also have a something things I want to make. Home made Larabars as I mentioned earlier, I also want to make some whipped cottage cheese and I have to find and try out a bday cake recipe for the bfs bday on the 27th of this month. He’s turning 30 and kind of depressed about it so I have to come up with something GOOD! 

And then at 10 is the long awaited premiere of Battlestar Galactica 😀

Happy Friday everyone!

Responses

  1. this post is so full of goodness! especially the SHRIMP! mmm mmm 😀
    hope you’re having a wonderful weekend!

  2. Wow, everything looks scrumptious! Love the pasta! Yummy!


Leave a Reply

Categories

