Posted by: limberkimbers | January 20, 2009

On this day, we gather because we have chosen hope over fear, unity of purpose over conflict and discord.

Today was AWESOME!  The highlight was everyone gathering in the boardroom to watch Obama’s inauguration and then his speech.  It was really fantastic to share that moment with a group of people, we were all moved by the speech and we all discussed whether or not Obama would be willing to also be the head of Canada since our fearless leaders aren’t so great these days.. but that’s another story for another day.

A coworker also brought in her 7week old baby who is all kind of ADORABLE. And I also got offered a new job. The new job didn’t interest me in the least but the fact that I was hand picked by these people to join their team made me all warm and fuzzy. Not as much as my own bosses [who approached me to tell me about the offer] who said they really didn’t want to lose me but would understand if I left and would respect my decision. I love where I am. I’m crazy busy but I have a flexible enough schedule and a great support group. Also, they’re footing the bill for my uni courses so I had no doubts about the decision.

Anyways, enough babble and onto the eats!

Breakfast was an omelette with mushroom, spinach, onion & red pepper. I used 1 egg & 1/4c of egg white. 

The omelette was good but I was hungry again at 10. Since I knew that I would be having a later lunch I ate a bowl of Kashi Go Lean Crunch with blueberries and a giant banana.

Lunch happened at 1 and I had a sandwich, some carrots & edamame hummus and a mini dark chocolate bar. I ate the whole thing because quite frankly, I can’t resist chocolate these days 😀

When I got home I did some stretching, 15 minutes of abs, some pushups [I decided to start doing these because my arms are WEAK!] and then I went and walked on the treadmill for half an hour. I was not in the mood to run so I just walked at a 6 incline and at 4mph. I barely broke a sweat but at least it was something.

Dinner was Broiled Tilapia with tomato-caper salsa from Cooking Light.  The only change I made was omitting the anchovy paste since I didn’t actually have any on hand and didn’t feel like going out to get some. To go with the fish I made some veggie fried rice w/ basically the same ingredients that were in my omelette and then I added some cumin and a bit of chilli powder for some kick.

I don’t feel like making a lunch for tomorrow so I need to prepare a sweet potato to nuke at work. I also have about a half cup of rice left so I think I’ll bring that to mix in with some veggie soup. EASY PEASY!  I don’t like to get lazy about making lunches but I hate buying my lunch even more, lol!

Tonight is The Biggest Loser night but I’m gonna have to pvr it since the bf is playing video games with his brother. BOOO. But I guess it’s ok since I really don’t want to be sitting in front of the tv for 2 hours straight!  I’ll just read the recap of at Television Without Pity tomorrow and the ffwd to the good parts 😀

Over Christmas I ordered a couple of books online, 2 of which arrived a few weeks back but today I checked the mail for the first time in a few weeks [I only ever bother to do it the day before payday so I can get all the bills and pay them] and I received a 3rd book I had totally forgotten about! The book is The China Study, I’ve heard it’s super interesting but I’ve also got about 3 other books on the go right now PLUS a couple of textbooks for school! lol Dilemmas! 

Anyways, the dogs are whining for their nighttime walk now and since it’s my turn to take them I can’t ignore them any more.. Good night!

Responses

  1. Oh wow delicious delicious eats! And thanks for the heads up about the biggest loser, I haven’t seen an episode yet!
    And a seven week old baby? AWH!

  2. That is pretty cool that you were offered a job without even trying for it! You must be good at what you do. Omelet looks delish.

  3. Today was a great day, I agree! Love your breakfast!

  4. P.S. Just ordered The China Study…I’ve been wanting to read it and your post reminded me! Let me know what you think when you start reading 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

