Posted by: limberkimbers | January 25, 2009

Weekend Recap!

I had another weekend that was very much GO! GO! GO! I got lots of good shopping done!

I started off Saturday with some oatmeal. I don’t really like bananas in my oatmeal but I decided on Saturday to have another go at putting one in the mix. This oatmeal had the banana, a tsp of maple butter and some carob chips. The banana wasn’t too overpowering in this so I actually enjoyed the oats. Success!

My great aunt was admitted to the hospital last week and my mom’s driving out to go visit her this week so we went out to buy her some new nighties for the hospital. She’s going to be admitted to a home in not too long so we thought it would be nice to get her some new stuff. While we were looking around we also found some stuff for ourselves! I also went and checked out Old Navy but that store gave me such a headache! It was so messy and distracting that I just left.

Afterwards we went to Ikea in search of frames and other knick knacks.  We were both starving by this point since it was around 1:30 and we hadn’t had lunch. We thought we’d eat at the Ieak restaurant but the lineup was insane as can be expected on a Saturday afternoon! lol so we just shopped quickly and got out of there. Here’s what I got, some fun plates & bowls.

After this we hit up Subway for lunch where I had my usual 6′ Turkey on honey oat w/ cheese, all the veggies and honey mustard dressing. I also splurged and had an iced tea and some baked lays.

I also topped by the grocery store to pick up a few things.

I bought some EVO chickpea burgers which I’ve never tried before, some Yves burgers, pineapple/mango/coconut yoghurt, tofu dip, chipotle hummus and kale.

Dinner was a recipe that I saw one someone’s blog within the last 2 or 3 weeks. I forgot to write it down so I went from memory, cheese and artichoke stuffed shells, these ended up being super good! I should have mad a sidedish to go with them but I wasn’t all that hungry and neither was the bf so I didn’t bother. These shells have artichoke, feta, cream cheese, spinach,  lots of garlic and pepper and then they’re topped with tomato sauce.

Today I didn’t really leave the house but I was busy cleaning and organizing things so I was pretty much on the go all day again.

I started off my morning quite early, I wasn’t too hungry but I decided to make a smoothie. I mixed in some yoghurt, milk, ice and blueberries. This was super tropical tasting since the yoghurt has pineapple, mango and coconut in it! I haven’t had a smoothie in ages so this was A+

By 9am I was starting to get hungry so I had 2 pieces of multi whole grain toast with some jam and some cherries on the side.

Lunch was a turkey sandwich with spinach, onion, a laughing cow wedge and some spicy mustard. I toasted it up in the sandwich maker which I LOVE btw. I also had a sweet potato with some blended cottage cheese + pepper and some carrots with chipotle hummus. SUPER filling and way more than I normally have for lunch!  I didn’t snack all afternoon though so that’s good 😀

I went and did groceries at around 4pm and failed miserably at trying to cut back! I walked out of there $105 poorer and that doesn’t count the $$ I spent at the store yesterday and also at Costco earlier this week!  Oh well. One of the things I’ve always indulged in is good and healthy food and I’m not going to start cutting corners just to save a few bucks!  I just really want summer to get here so that produce gets cheaper!

When I got home I decided to make something to use up the 4 disgustingly brown bananas that were sitting on my counter, so I made these:

I whipped together the 4 bananas, a cup of brown sugar and about 1/3 of a cup of maple syrup. I added a half cup of egg white and a third of a cup of milk, a tsp of baking powder, 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour and also 1 1/3 cup of oatmeal that I food processed so it because flour too. I also have 2 tbsp of flax seeds in there. Before putting them in the oven I added a few carob chips to the top of each of these. THEY ARE SO TASTY! Of course as soon as they came out of the oven I had to try one so make sure they were ok, even though dinner was next on the agenda!

Here’s my dogs hanging out with me in the kitchen while i was mkaing these & dinner.

For dinner we had salmon much to the bfs chagrin.  He’s always disappointed when I tell him we have fish but he always ends up loving what I serve him so I’m not sure what his problem is.

For tonight’s meal I took a 1/2 cup of low sodium soya sauce, a quarter cup of maple syrup and LOTS of garlic, about 4 gloves crushed. I cooked that over medium-high heat for about 10 minutes until it thickened a bit and then I put it in a dish and added the salmon to it. I let the salmon hang out and take a bath for about 15 minutes and then tossed it in the oven for about 25 minuutes. In the meantime i made a salad w/ romaine, spinach, grape tomato, cucumber, flax, onion and pumpkin seeds. And I also cooked up some kale! I sauteed it with some garlic and olive oil and towards the end drizzled a bit of balsamic over it. This is my first time ever having kale and I loved it! The whole dinner was actually super good and filling! I added 1 tbsp of chipotle hummus to my salad in lieu of dressing.

And that was my weekend! I got no workouts in but I was active most of the weekend so I’m ok with not running or biking or doing pilates or yoga. I do plan on doing some stretching tonight while watching some tv but other than that I’m taking it easy!

This week, Tuesday is the first weight in for the Work Biggest Loser! I’m excited to see if I’ll have any kind of loss! I’m feeling amazing though so even if the scale hasn’t budged I’m ok with it. Also this week my work buddy and I are doing the stairs 5x which should simulateously suck and be kind of awesome! I kind of hate doing the stairs but I love how I feel after doing them which is what gets me started in the first place!

Anyways, I hope you all had a fantastic weekend! I can’t wait until I get to work tomorrow so I can catch up on all the blogs!

Responses

  1. What awesome eats! Love those muffins! Glad you had a great weekend!

    http://www.strongandhealthy.wordpress.com

  2. Glad you enjoyed carob chips! I need to stock up on some!

    Tasty eats in general!

  3. Hey Kim, cute plates! I especially like the white rectangular one.
    Yeah, I’m not a natural runner, either. Treadmill work is hard! The country song is Keith Urban “Raining on Sunday.” hehe. Love it!
    All your eats look great–the impromptu muffins, the salmon, the cherries…YUM!


Leave a Reply

Categories

