Posted by: limberkimbers | January 28, 2009

Let’s get tipsy, and start a rumor.

Two posts in one day, how exciting!

I just read that Obama is coming to Ottawa the day after my birthday, whoo hoo! 

So it seems that in the last few days a good portion of the people I work with have come down with some kind of flu, I am doing my absolute best to stay healthy and not catch it!  I have already been sick more times than I care to remember this winter, I`m feeling so fantastic lately and I want to keep it that way!

This morning was another lazy breakfast day, I just had some cereal and a banana, greenish just the way I like it 😀

Work was busy & productive. My stair partner was one of the unfortunate people who came down with what`s going around so I was going to skip on doing the stairs. But then, a coworker decided she wanted to see what all the hype was about.  We went much slower than I`m used to but it was still a workout in itself, I work my Nike+ sensor and our 2x doing the circuit ended up being 2.75 km! I never would have thought it would be that much!

For dinner I had thawed some lean ground turkey and decided I wanted some quick & easy turkey burgers.  In my food processor I threw in 3tbsp of oats & 1 tbsp of flax seeds and chopped those up until they were fine, to imitate breadcrumbs.  To that I added:
1tbsp bbq sauce
1 tbsp olive oil
coarse black pepper
finely chopped red onion
half cup of crumbled feta

I mixed everything up and formed 5 patties, cooked at 400 for about 30 minutes.

I was afraid that they`d be dry especially with the oats but this were the fluffiest, tastiest burgers I`ve had in a while. They were not heavy at all and the feta gave them such amazing flavor.  I had 1 pattie with a thintini bun with some roasted red pepper, spinach, onion, laughing cow wedge, a tiny bit of low fat mayo and a tiny bit of spicy hummus. On the side I had a few carrots & hummus and then I went back for another half of a pattie and ate it plain. SO GOOD!

Lost is on tonight but I`m not sure if I`ll make the effort to stay up and watch.  I`d like to but I think my need for sleep is going to win this war!

I think I`m going to go outside with the dogs to play in the snow and burn some extra calories! We had steady snowfall all day and it`s still going strong, surprisingly even though we`ve had a tonne of snow this year I`m not sick of it yet! I think not having to shovel it has a lot to do with that 😀

Responses

  1. have fun playing with the dogs in the snow!

    I like your burger, I’d just have to leave the onion out!

  2. I love your turkey burgers! Yummy! I am not a fan of feta by itself but mixed in a birger for flavor sounds really good! I love the snow you are having, jealous out here in 70 degree cali! Good job on the stairs, thats crazy just at lunch!

  3. Oh wow, super tasty eats! Love the burger!

  4. Great turkey burger! Have a great night!

    http://www.strongandhealthy.wordpress.com

  5. What a colourful plate!! They would make eating even more fun! 😀

  6. I like your take on turkey burgers. Whenever I make them with lean ground turkey, they always turn out dry and flavorless. I’ll try it with BBQ and feta next time and see if that helps! 😀


Leave a Reply

Categories

